Worthington History

Orange Johnson House
956 High St., 43085. A six-room pioneer home located on its original site, the Orange Johnson House was built in 1811 by Arora Buttles and stood on a 35-acre farm. In 1819, the Federal-style addition was built for businessman Orange Johnson. Owned, restored and maintained by the Worthington Historical Society, today it is a museum depicting early nineteenth-century life and is open at various times of the year and by request.

Cemetery at St. John's Episcopal Church
700 High St., 43085. Families of many of Worthington's original settlers are buried at the cemetery behind St. John's Episcopal Church. The largest marker is that of James Kilbourne, who is credited as the founder of Worthington and was an Episcopal deacon. Built in the late-1820s, the church is the original building on the plot set aside for worship.

Snow House
41 W. New England Ave., 43085. This home is typical Federal-style brick, built in 1815 for John Snow, who was active in the Worthington and Ohio Masons. Snow was master of the Lodge when it was built, with earlier meetings held at his home.

CoHatch Building
752 High St., 43085. Noted for its prominent location on Worthington's Village Green, this 1927 building was the Worthington Public Library until 1997, when the current Old Worthington Library opened. Next, it was the administrative office for Worthington Schools until 2001. Currently, CoHatch fills much of the building with shared work and event space, in addition to Sew to Speak and The Madery, a small business incubator.

Masonic Museum
634 High St., 43085. The New England Masonic Lodge was built in 1820 and is the oldest Masonic Temple west of the Allegheny Mountains. Many of Worthington's founders were Masons, a fraternal organization "dedicated to the ideals of charity, equality, morality and service to God." The museum showcases ceremonial furniture and ornaments.

Jeffers Hopewell Prehistoric Mound
Plesenton Drive, 43085. This twenty-foot mound has a base diameter of 192 feet and is a remnant of the Adena and Hopewell Indian cultures. It was part of the Scioto Company's land purchase when New England settlers arrived in 1803. The mound was given to the Worthington Historical Society in 1974. Tours of the site are conducted. The surface of the mound is easily eroded, so visitors are asked to keep off the mound itself.

Rush Creek Village
East South Street, 43085. This is an architecturally unique residential neighborhood of nearly 40 houses, inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright's Ursonian designs or organic architecture. Construction began in 1956 with many homes built into a ravine or hillside with flat roofs, wide eaves, terraces, carports and built-in furniture.

The Worthington Inn
 
649 High St., 43085. Built in 1931, The Worthington Inn was originally a private residence for James Cowles, a Worthington merchant and son-in-law of James Kilbourne. From the mid-1800s, it operated as an inn. The building has had significant additions, including residential condominiums, yet maintains its designation on the National Register of Historic Places.